A unique museum in Loctudy
The history of the Loctudy cannery spans more than a century. Built in 1901 at the request of potato merchant Jean-Marie Vallière des Filières, it was sold between 1917 and 1919 to the son of Douarnen canner Alexis Le Gall. The latter passed on this heritage to his daughter Henriette several years after the factory was closed following a poor sardine season in 1954-55. The factory and its outbuildings were then bought by Jean-Philippe Chapalain, husband of Alexis Le Gall's granddaughter, who took care of its conservation between the end of the 1980s and the beginning of the 2010s. The site will be taken over by the municipality of Loctudy from 2016.
The Musée de la Conserverie Alexis Le Gall aims to pass on the memory of the fish canning activities of the first half of the 20th century in Brittany and to be an essential factor in revitalising the town centre and attracting tourists to the area.