Christine Zamuner - Mayor of Loctudy

" The restored Le Gall Cannery and its Museum will transmit the memory of the fish canning activities of the first half of the 20th century in Brittany and will be an essential factor in revitalising the town centre and attracting tourists to the area. "Christine Zamuner, Mayor of Loctudy, 2014-2026 term

The development of the project

In 2015, Jean-Philippe Chapalain, husband of one of Alexis le Gall's granddaughters and owner, and Jean Laouenan, deputy mayor in charge of finance and the economic and tourist development of Loctudy, met to take stock of the museum project.

After an exchange between the two parties, the buildings and collections were classified as Historic Monuments. In order to support the start of the project, the association of "Friends of the Alexis le Gall Cannery" (ACAL), chaired by Guy Cosnard, is created. The commune signed a 40-year long lease with Jean-Philippe Chapalain in order to manage the restoration of the building.

It was then that Jean Laouenan began to work on the development of the project around 3 issues:

  • The preservation of a unique and exceptional industrial heritage,
  • The attractiveness of the territory and the promotion of its maritime identity,
  • The transmission of the memory of a fragment of local history.

Following these operations, the elected representatives of the commune of Loctudy, under the mandate of Mrs Zamuner, voted for the commune to join the Fondation du Patrimoine in order to reduce the communal share of the financing of the project to restore and develop the former Le Gall cannery. The application for the Alexis Le Gall cannery, written by Jean Laouenan in the context of the call for projects "Coastal heritage", was selected by the Brittany region as the winner of the competition aimed at increasing awareness, conservation, development and innovation around the various estuarine, coastal and maritime heritages. The Amarres office, composed of the curator Marie Prigent-Viegas and the documentalist Amélie Garrot-Hascoët, began writing the scientific and cultural project.

The launch of the works

In 2017, the Loctudy Town Hall acquired the buildings and its collections. At the same time, it renounced the long lease that bound the commune to the Chapalain couple. Finally, the scientific and cultural project, drafted by Marie Prigent-Viegas and Amélie Garrot-Hascoët of the AMARES firm, will be presented to the Loctudy Town Hall. This will define the Museum's guidelines for the coming years.

Following this presentation, donations will be collected from the Fondation Crédit Agricole du Finistère and Fondation des Pays de France and the Brittany delegation of the "Vieilles Maisons Françaises". The restoration project will also be selected by the "Loto du Patrimoine - Mission Bern" in 2018.

With the support of AMARES, the ACAL volunteers are going to proceed with the inventory of the collections. The work on the collections has enabled the architectural firm Lizerand, the scenographer Anthony Hamon and the museographer Pierre Combes to present the preliminary museographic project to the elected representatives. The architectural restoration work (roofing, masonry) can now begin!

The inauguration of the Musée de la Conserverie

The call for tenders for the "scenographic development of the former Alexis le Gall cannery" took place in June 2020. After selecting the service providers for each lot, the project for the fitting out of the Museum can finally begin. In January 2021, the Lizerand firm will enter its final phase of architectural work. The first collections will return to the Museum, largely thanks to the support of the technical services of the commune of Loctudy and the volunteers of ACAL.

At the end of August, the Museum is now ready to welcome the first visitors! The inauguration of the Museum took place, in the presence of regional, departmental and Loctudist elected officials, on 9 September 2021. The first visitors entered the Museum on Friday 10 September 2021.

Christine Zamuner - Maire de Loctudy

« La Conserverie Le Gall restaurée et son Musée transmettront la mémoire des activités de conserves de poisson de la première moitié du XXe siècle en Bretagne et constitueront un facteur essentiel de dynamisation du centre-bourg et d’attractivité touristique pour le territoire. » Christine Zamuner, Maire de Loctudy, mandature 2014-2026

L’élaboration du projet

En 2015, Jean-Philippe Chapalain, époux de l’une des petites-filles d’Alexis le Gall et propriétaire, et Jean Laouenan, adjoint au Maire en charge des finances et du développement économique et touristique de Loctudy, se rencontrent pour faire un état des lieux sur le projet de Musée.

Après échange entre les deux parties, les bâtiments et les collections sont classées au titre des Monuments Historiques. Afin de soutenir le démarrage du projet, l’association des « Amis de la Conserverie Alexis le Gall » (ACAL), présidée par Guy Cosnard, est créée. La commune signe un bail emphytéotique de 40 ans avec Jean-Philippe Chapalain afin de porter la maîtrise d’ouvrage du projet de restauration du bâtiment.

C’est alors que Jean Laouenan commence à travailler sur le développement du projet autour de 3 enjeux :

  • La sauvegarde d’un patrimoine industriel unique et exceptionnel,
  • L’attractivité du territoire et la valorisation de son identité maritime,
  • La transmission de la mémoire d’un fragment de l’histoire locale.

A la suite de ces opérations, les élus de la commune de Loctudy, sous la mandature de Mme Zamuner, votent l’adhésion de la commune à la Fondation du patrimoine dans le but de réduire la part communale dans le financement du projet de restauration et de valorisation de l’ancienne conserverie Le Gall. Le dossier de candidature de la conserverie Alexis Le Gall, rédigé par Jean Laouenan dans le cadre de l’appel à projet « Héritages littoraux », est sélectionné par la région Bretagne en tant que lauréat du concours visant à faire mieux connaître, conserver, valoriser ou innover autour des différents patrimoines estuariens, littoraux et maritimes. Le cabinet Amarres, composé de la conservatrice Marie Prigent-Viegas et de la documentaliste Amélie Garrot-Hascoët, se lance dans l’écriture du projet scientifique et culturel.

Le lancement des travaux

En 2017, la Mairie de Loctudy fait l’acquisition des immeubles et de ses collections. Par la même occasion, elle renonce au bail emphytéotique qui liait la commune aux époux Chapalain. Enfin, le projet scientifique et culturel, rédigé par Marie Prigent-Viegas et Amélie Garrot-Hascoët du cabinet AMARES, sera présenté à la Mairie de Loctudy. Il s’agira de la définition de la ligne directrice du Musée pour les prochaines années.

A l’issue de cette présentation, des dons vont être collectés auprès de la Fondation Crédit Agricole du Finistère et Fondation des Pays de France et de la délégation de Bretagne des « Vieilles Maisons Françaises ». Le projet de restauration sera, par la même occasion, sélectionné par le « Loto du Patrimoine – Mission Bern » en 2018.

Avec le soutien du cabinet AMARES, les bénévoles de l’ACAL vont procéder au récolement des collections. Le travail sur les collections a permis au cabinet d’architecture Lizerand, au scénographe Anthony Hamon et au muséographe Pierre Combes, de présenter l’avant-projet muséographique aux élus. Les travaux de restauration architecturale (toiture, maçonnerie) peuvent commencer !

L’inauguration du Musée de la Conserverie

Le lancement de l’appel d’offres de marché public pour « l’Aménagement scénographique de l’ancienne conserverie Alexis le Gall » a eu lieu en juin 2020. Après avoir sélectionné les prestataires pour chaque lot, le projet pour l’aménagement du Musée peut enfin démarrer. Le cabinet Lizerand entre, en janvier 2021, dans sa dernière phase de travaux architecturaux. Les premières collections reviennent au Musée, en grande partie grâce au soutien des services techniques de la commune de Loctudy et des bénévoles de l’ACAL.

Fin Août, le Musée est désormais prêt pour accueillir les premiers visiteurs ! L’inauguration du Musée s’est déroulée, en présence d’élus régionaux, départementaux et Loctudistes, le 9 septembre 2021. Les premiers visiteurs ont pénétré dans le Musée le vendredi 10 septembre 2021.